Just for me…

22 11 2011

Over the years, there’s small ways that the Lord reveals His care for me in ways that only He could do.  This week it was through Christmas ornaments.

At our previous condo, our Christmas decorations were kept in plastic containers in the basement.  Unbenounced to me, the basement flooded at one point and the containers filled with water.  When we moved this summer I drained the containers but didn’t have time to survey the damage.

This week I filled the sink with soapy water and began digging through the damp, moldy decorations trying to salvage as much as I could.  About 1/3 of our ornaments had to be thrown away.  This breaks my heart as I cherish so many that represent my childhood.  All of our ornaments that had photographs in them did not last.  I washed as many as I could and would set them out to dry…

In the middle of the pile, I pulled out an ornament that was stuck to another.  As I peeled it off, I prayed that it survived.  To my great joy, I saw this very personal and precious ornament not only survived, but was the ONLY ornament that was not damaged at all!

There’s no reason logically that this ornament of my dad and me should have survived.  It was literally in the smack-dab middle of a pile of damaged ornaments.  Only God would know what this would mean to me.  And for that, I’m so thankful.  And loved.

Actions

Information

3 responses

22 11 2011
Dianne Carpenter

Smiling with JOY at how God cares for his children!

22 11 2011
Debora Johnson

I cry with you through your tears of joy.

23 11 2011
Tara

Oh Holly, that is so wonderful! God is so good!!

Leave a Reply

